Policy Choices for Indiana's Future (Policy Choices II)

Urban communities represent
approximately 30 percent of the population,
and two-fifths of the jobs in Indiana.

The Thriving Communities, Thriving State Urban Areas Commission examines state and local strategies and policies that can help urban communities fulfill the critical role they play in attracting businesses, investment, and workers to the state of Indiana.

Gathering information and input through available research, public meetings around the state, expert speakers, online public surveys, and other data sources, the Commission will develop recommendations in four broad focus areas for state and local policy leaders.

The focus areas are:

  • Forward thinking leadership with and engaged citizenry,
  • Quality infrastructure,
  • Access to world class education opportunities for all Indiana residents, and
  • Quality of place that attracts, retains, and develops a diverse collection of talent.

Urban Areas Commission




David Bennett

Executive Director

Community Foundation of Greater Fort Wayne

Betsy McCaw

Vice President, Strategy
and Operations

Central Indiana Corporate Partnership




Drew Klacik

Senior Policy Analyst

IU Public Policy Institute

Jamar Cobb-Dennard

Graduate Assistant

IU Public Policy Institute






Dan Bradley


Indiana State University

Jeb Conrad

President & CEO

Greater Bloomington Chamber of Commerce

Ellen Cutter


Community Research Institute

Karen Freeman-Wilson


City of Gary

Gretchen Gutman

Vice President of
Public Policy

Cook Group

Christina Hale

State Representative

State of Indiana

Michael Huber

President & CEO

Indy Chamber

Danette Howard

Vice President for
Policy and Mobilization

Lumina Foundation

Jim McClelland

President and CEO

Goodwill Industries of
Central Indiana

Rose Meissner


Community Foundation of
St. Joseph County

John Myrland

Senior Vice President
Community Engagement

Old National Bank

Maria Quintana

Executive Vice President

JP Morgan Chase

Theresa Farrington

Executive Director

Buckingham Foundation

Earline Rogers

State Senator

State of Indiana

Casey Stanley

Vice President,

Ontario Systems

Jonathan Weinzapfel


Ivy Tech SW

Nikki Woodson


MSD Washington Township